Small mill

Submachine

Registered
Registered
I have limited ability to move a Bridgeport into my basement. I want the most powerful and feature rich small mill that I can get into my basement. Basement is a walkout, so no stairs. I found this 2HP model. Thoughts?

Midas MI-409MZ Metal Mill

A few more questions:

What's the budget?
Are you only looking at bench top machines?
Would you consider second hand machines, or do you want to buy new?

Budget is max of $5000, but I would prefer a used machine for under $2000. Hard for me to quantize what I need when I am fairly new to this. I can tell you I cut mostly steel and I would like to be able to drill a 1 inch hole easily in mild steel. Not looking for solely benchtops, but I need to be able to wrestle it down a hill and into basement. Most powerful for example would be a 2 horse motor. Feature reach would be include all axis power drive and DRO.

Sounds like you won't have a hard time getting a knee mill (like a Bridgeport) into the basement. Set aside about a grand for hiring riggers and make them deal with it. When dealing with steel, you'll be glad for the extra mass.

Sounds like you won't have a hard time getting a knee mill (like a Bridgeport) into the basement. Set aside about a grand for hiring riggers and make them deal with it. When dealing with steel, you'll be glad for the extra mass.

what type of Bridgeport I should be looking for? I.e. specific models

A J-head Series I should cost around 2k (hopefully less) used for the basic mill and would do the job. Working DRO and axis feeds will bump it up to the 3-5k range, though you can always add those later to save money now. If your 5k is a hard max, then new knee mills are out of the question (see PM's offerings).