• I am over 40 and answered rule

• I am under 40 and answered rule

• I am over 40 and answered ruler

• I am under 40 and answered ruler

Results are only viewable after voting.

rfdes

Active User
Registered
I have seen alot of mixed information regarding this on the internet. I'm professionally an electronics engineer and I've always understood that a rule measures absolute lengths while a scale is used for 'scaling' purposes. Being a beginning hobby machinist, I keep hearing many machinists scolding others to always use the term 'machinist scale' as opposed to 'machinist rule'.

I guess it really doesn't matter one bit but I would like to know WHY it is referred to as a scale as opposed to rule?
Jim
Largo, Fl.

I have seen alot of mixed information regarding this on the internet. I'm professionally an electronics engineer and I've always understood that a rule measures absolute lengths while a scale is used for 'scaling' purposes. Being a beginning hobby machinist, I keep hearing many machinists scolding others to always use the term 'machinist scale' as opposed to 'machinist rule'.

I guess it really doesn't matter one bit but I would like to know WHY it is referred to as a scale as opposed to rule?
Jim
Largo, Fl.
Back in the sixties in high school drafting class we used scales. If we referred to them as rule or rulers, we would get our knuckles rapped with one. We also got our knuckles rapped if we used them as a straight edge. Your explanation of the differentiation is very plausible. Perhaps the old timers use the scale terminology because in those days, machinists got their prints from the draftsmen and the draftsmen only used scales.

Haven't seen any tape scales lately!

Bob

As far as I've seen there are two types of scales. Architect's scales in fractions and Engineer's scales in decimals, used for drawing scale drawings and plans.