So I'm a machinist now?

SamI

Registered
Registered
So it looks as though I am making an unscheduled departure from 9-5 work and in an effort not to have to go and get another I've been having a long hard think. I already run a small business in my spare time jewellery making (yes, I'm one of those Damascus steel guys you see popping up on YouTube - although I don't actually post on YouTube). I started that 3 years ago and before then the closest I had come to being a machinist was picking up a cordless drill. Not deterred by this I bought myself a mini lathe and quickly became hooked on machining.

Inspired by the thread B & A precision on Practical Machinist (a very long read!) I thought I'd document where I came from and where I'm going and hopefully provide some entertainment along the way. There is a good chance I'll get bored of doing this and / or forget in the coming months but I'll try to keep the thread updated.
***MODS: If you feel that this is inappropriate then please feel free to delete. I am not doing this to promote myself or my services and as such will post no links to my websites or mention my company name unless asked to do so via PM. My intention is to post general machine shop related stuff - I'll try and keep any commercial / financial stuff to a minimum***