Some questions about finned & saboted projectiles in small arms...

MC_MuHyeon

Registered
Registered
Hi I am a newbie to machining. I'm a college student from Asia who enjoys shooting and has a great interest in exotic small arms designs.

I've recently been thinking of a bolt gun design with a smoothbore barrel chambered in flat-walled .308 wildcats (such as .45 raptor) which fires a finned projectile with plastic/aluminum sabots capped around it. I know this kind of idea has been thought up and done many times before with little success due to tight tolerences from small bore diameter.

But I find advantages of sabot rounds (high BC bullets + high velocity + longer barrel life) so intriguing that I would like to start the project.

I plan to use a second-hand rem 700 standard action for this project with custom steel projectiles and aluminum sabots. However there are several problems I have so I would like to ask the following questions:

Is there a barrel manufacturer who accepts a custom order of making a smoothbore steel barrel in .452 inch caliber?

Assuming that I have obtained the barrel I wanted, would local gunsmiths be able to install it on the action?

What do you think would be the expected price range of this project (rifle action + custom barrel + brass, sabots, projectiles, gunsmithing service)? I am considering of a barrel length of 18~22 inches made of 41XX steel.

Past experiments on sabot rounds in rifle calibers have been done with little success due to less tolerances from small bullet diameter. If I neck up a case as wide as I can, would such problems be alleviated a bit?

Btw I am a novice in machining/gunsmithing, so please keep that in mind before you call me stupid or dumb. I welcome your response unless it's personally insulting, derogatory, or cynical.

Thanks for reading.

Hi,