some questions on inserts

rambin

Registered
Registered
im just getting into the machinging thing and don't know too much about the tooling... after I bought a 10' lathe I was given a box of mixed inserts, I don't have a holder for them or know exactly what they are for... so I have a few questions
1) are they too big for my lathe? or is there such a thing?
2) is it worth buying a tool that will hold them
3)several different shapes what are they all for?

I'm assuming every different shaped insert takes a different holder? heres the pics of the inserts I have a few of some and a dzn of others...

20180127_134311.jpg

20180127_134328.jpg

20180127_134340.jpg

20180127_134410.jpg

20180127_134424.jpg

20180127_134438.jpg

20180127_134455.jpg

20180127_134513.jpg

You mean a 10" lathe?
I'd say probably, bunch of those have zero clearance angle for negative rake holders.
You have a threading insert there, the round is a forming insert the others are turning inserts. There is one I don't know what it is.
They look beat to me.

yes I have a 10" by 24 " lathe... im quite certain these came out of a big industrial shop b4 they were given to me... that's what im curious on are they any good to me? or tooo large? I really don't think there beat by any means, there mostly new with out marks of any use.... some have one corner used. most are untouched

Okay I stand corrected.
Unless you make your own tool holder probably not any good to you with that size lathe.
Most of those look pretty large so probably 3/4" holder would be the minimum size.
What is the max rpm of your lathe? What kind is it?