South Bend Heavy 10 I Just Got

Don T

Registered
Registered
I just got this 10" South Bend. I am new to these and I have heard the term "Heavy 10"? Is that what I got? the serial number is LT-106R 4512RKT9. It is missing a LOT of the gears but at the price of free I had to take it. I hope gears are not to expensive. It came with a Dayton 1hp 220 motor. It took me 2 days and some persistence but I got it moved all by my self using a mini van! Now I have to clean it up and get it going. Thanks

Attachments

• CIMG6160.JPG
    CIMG6160.JPG
    6.2 MB · Views: 54
  • CIMG6161.JPG
    CIMG6161.JPG
    6.9 MB · Views: 52
  • CIMG6162.JPG
    CIMG6162.JPG
    5.5 MB · Views: 45
  • CIMG6164.JPG
    CIMG6164.JPG
    7.6 MB · Views: 50
  • CIMG6165.JPG
    CIMG6165.JPG
    5.9 MB · Views: 49
  • CIMG6166.JPG
    CIMG6166.JPG
    5.1 MB · Views: 47
  • CIMG6167.JPG
    CIMG6167.JPG
    5.9 MB · Views: 41
  • CIMG6170.JPG
    CIMG6170.JPG
    6.8 MB · Views: 41
  • CIMG6169.JPG
    CIMG6169.JPG
    5.6 MB · Views: 40
  • CIMG6168.JPG
    CIMG6168.JPG
    6 MB · Views: 40
  • CIMG6173.JPG
    CIMG6173.JPG
    5.8 MB · Views: 41
That's a lot of pieces. Hope your the one who took it apart. If not parts are around because it was a popular lathe. There are some fine folks here with South Bends that will help with information. Good luck on your project

Yep, a Heavy 10. From Well's site, it would be roughly 1952 10L with a quick change gearbox and a turret. There should be a few gears, but not a slew of change gears like the old lathes.

PS Wells has a book called "How to put your basketcase back together".... or maybe it's something about restoring South Bend lathes. Tis' on eBay for about $40. Worth it.

That's a lot of pieces. Hope your the one who took it apart. If not parts are around because it was a popular lathe. There are some fine folks here with South Bends that will help with information. Good luck on your project

Yes I took it apart. I saw it run before I took it.