Spider Without a Web

Logan Novice

Registered
Registered
Here's the spider I just finished for my PM1127. It has an extended mounting collar (a hollow "nose" if you will) that fits inside the spindle bore and mounts to the spindle end pulley assembly using two screws in place of the shorter OEM screws. Because I am a novice hobby machinist, this project did not go as smoothly as I had hoped. This is actually my third attempt at getting the mounting screws properly position to mate with the spindle pulley and the spider screws correctly aligned along the circumference. I included those errors in the images (I could have just painted it and concealed that fact) to demonstrate to others that an error does not have to equal failure. We can recover the material to live another day.

Attachments

• IMG_20210921_085802847.jpg
    IMG_20210921_085802847.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 96
  • IMG_20210921_085812839.jpg
    IMG_20210921_085812839.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 92
Another project I need to get to.....

Yours looks well done!

Thanks for sharing it.

-brino

Another project I need to get to.....

Yours looks well done!

Thanks for sharing it.

-brino
I installed 1/4 - 20 set screws and, at this late moment and with the advice of another hobby machinist, I may have made a mistake there. I now think I'd should have chosen a finer thread. So I will modify this to a slightly larger set screw - at least 5/16-24.

I installed 1/4 - 20 set screws and, at this late moment and with the advice of another hobby machinist, I may have made a mistake there. I now think I'd should have chosen a finer thread. So I will modify this to a slightly larger set screw - at least 5/16-24.
1/4 20 is fine... that looks like a piece of steel... one honking big piece. I hate to show you what my spider looks like... My spindle is not that big, so a piece of aluminum and nylon 1/4 20 screws. That way it doesn't mar the piece hanging out. works fine.