Suggestion on applicable TRIG book?

GunsOfNavarone

Registered
Registered
So, to say I need a refresher course on trig is an understatement. I really would like to focus on the more relatable to machining, not so much trig A-Z. Just a little background, I'm new to machining, work more than I sleep and have one hell of a short attention span. This translates to, 500 pages of small print & no pictures will be used as a wheel chock.
Thank you!

Get yourself a ready reference from Valenite . Simple to use . All trig tables are in it and not 500 pages .

For doing work in the shop, you can get all the information you need for free online, with models ready to plug in the numbers and wait milliseconds for the answers. If you really want to go back and study trig again, just find a used high school textbook and have it on hand for study and reference. It will come back to you in short order if you paid attention back then. I took trig in 1966 (edit: 1965), and can still do it nearly as well as I could then. I still remember a lot of the common questions, like the sine of 30 degrees (.500). Cosine is .866. I did not look those up. Wow, it just occurred to me that it was 52 (edit: 53) years ago when I studied trig. I better not look in the mirror... :eek 2:

Last edited:
Bob , way back when I knew it like the back of my hand . The trusty TI solar powered 30 was all I used from HS thru about a year ago . It finally fell apart . :rolleyes: Now I measure what I have to make with broom handles and such ! :big grin:

In all my machining experience, I have rarely, if ever, needed to know/understand any more than the basic definitions of sine, cosine, tangent, & cotangent. Machinery's Handbook has a good writeup on the basics of trigonometry as well as several thousand pages of useful information for the amateur and professional machinist.