Surface Grinder for a hobbyist

@projectnut - thanks for posting the brochure. That is generally what I pictured it would look like stock. Kinda too bad that someone cut it.

Nice tidy shop by the way!

There's an auction next week, west of Atlanta in Alabama. (4) hours from us.
There's three SGs from large to small - this one.
Inspection is on Monday but I'm not sure I'm up to an (8) road trip and it doesn't appear to be under power anyway.
Not sure what to make of the fact that it's strapped to pallet...

1591369302154.png

We had a manual 6-12 DoAll back when I was an apprentice, that looks like 6-18 manual. Was OK grinder. As I remember the wheel head did not go up as high as the others we had (Harig, Boyar Shultz, Brown & Sharpe). Hard to see from the photos, might be obscured by the diamond dresser, but perhaps missing the table left-right travel stops?

We also had a hydraulic DoAll 10-12 x 18-24 ish wet grinder that was real workhorse. Got used most every day, and was still going strong at 30 years.

If it is cheap enough and loading fee isn't bad, a decent grinder.

I think I have you beat; I got my 6 X 18 B&S Micromaster for free, only had to go to near Fremont to pick it up.

mine also came with a microvu comparator and a winslow exactomatic drill sharpener with dust filter and attachments.
i had to drive 5 miles to get them tho'

i use the grinder and winslow a fair amount. the comparator - have yet to have a need but it don't take up much space.

7milesup asked about cutter sharpening on a surface grinder. This is the setup I made for woodworking shaper and router cutters.

cutter grinder a.jpg

There's a 3/4" arbor I use for 3/4" bore shaper cutters and 1 1/4" bore cutters with a sleeve. There's a router chuck for 1/4" and 1/2" shank router cutters and 1/2" bore shaper cutters with a stub spindle.