Surface plate cleaners

redvan22

H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
H-M Platinum Supporter
OK, I'm new to this I admit but...

TOT used WD40 to clean his SP.
MrP used what looked like Windex.
I read somewhere to use ammonia, straight ammonia.

I was warned that some cleaners may eat into the granite so what did I do, I went to MSC and got SP cleaner in a convenient pump spray bottle and when I use it, I get a rough sticky, blotchy surface. I tried using cotton cloth, paper towels even shop rags.

What is the story with SP cleaners and what am I doing wrong?

Mike.

it is very unlikely to damage a surface plate with over the counter cleaners, it is granite.

don't waste the money on snake oil....
Straight Ammonia is all that is necessary
a secondary fluid is dollar store window cleaner, if you wanna go really cheap.

neither will damage granite

Last edited:
As I am not building space craft. I just use windex (glass cleaner) and paper shop towels. but then again, I have a used surface plate that I have never had refinished or worked on so who knows, it might already be out of flat by a few tenths :distrust:.

I was told that a SP was a precision instrument and needed to be carefully treated and tended to. I knew it was granite and virtually indestructible but never the less, wanted to hear it from others with far more experience then me.

Thank you.
Mike.

I have a Starrett 24 x 36. I use straight ammonia, a cotton cloth and a touch of jojoba oil as a finish. I understand that the dedicated Starrett cleaner has lanolin in it which makes the surface slightly more “slippery”. I too am not building the space shuttle, but what I’m doing seems to give good results.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk