table repair with spray welding - bad idea?

If the table just looks bad, and does good work, forget about fixing it, there is no reason to do so. I tell people that have the 'arc of shame' on their drill press tables that they are restoring to clean up the table, and leave the arc of shame completely untouched. Then get a Sharpie pen and write on the table "NOT MINE!" with an arrow pointing to it. As long as the machine works well, forget about trying to cover up other people's mistakes...

How about a few pictures. I would advise NOT to spray weld it as I am a Professional Machine Rebuilder. I have tried to spray weld Bridgeport tables after a spray weld salesman at a show told me how wonderful it would work. I had him come out to the shop to do it for me. The heat on a big casting draws out the heat as fast as you heat it and away from the spot. Then you have to get it so hot in the area it warps the table plus where the cast iron and the spray meet, it gets hard as glass. I did it 40 years ago and time and products may have changed (so you could call people who do it for a living, who get paid to do it and get a quote with a gaurantee). I would think pre heating will peel the paint in the webbing, discolor the iron and warp it depending on how hot it gets. If I saw what the dings looked like. I could give you some advice and guess, that can be happen online. Like asking for advice on a lump on your leg from someone who has a wood lathe. Spray welding To repair a visual ding could permanently screw up your machine. With online forum advice, you have no clue if the advise is from a fake or a pro. Especially when they make up some odd ball name and not their real one. The Deckels I have seen and worked on are precision instruments more then a Bridgeport mill.

Attachments

• 20191022_113257.jpg
    20191022_113257.jpg
    3 MB · Views: 24
Last edited: