Talk me out of this lathe -OR- don't (Grizzly 0602)

thepass

Registered
Registered
Hello! First post here. I work in the automotive aftermarket industry and dabble in fabrication - mostly sheet metal, welding and composites. I want to add machining capabilities to my "tool belt", have done a little bit here and there with other's machines but haven't had my own. Taking the plunge and just purchased a solid ACRA vertical mill and now shopping for a lathe.

I'm not doing production, just one-off stuff and prototypes. Lathe will probably only be ran a couple times a week. Mostly aluminum but I may need to turn some steel here and there.

I've had my eye on the Grizzly 10x22" lathe #G0602Z

The big question here is whether this is a good buy. There's only one review of it on their site and that guy seemed to modify his a bit. I've read the Grizzly forums here on H-M and most everyone seems to like them, but is there a better buy for this price bracket that solves something this needs? This ~$2,000 range is what I have a budget for. I'm sure I can get bigger better stronger for more money, but I can't justify more cost for the infrequency with which this will be used.

I suppose my only "concerns" are whether the 1HP motor is enough to turn a bit of steel now and then, and whether I can get decent accuracy with this lathe.

Hoping you guys can either ease my mind that this is a decent buy, or steer me another direction if there's something better to consider.

Thanks!

Personally I'm a fan of old American iron. I think you can find a larger, more versatile, better built used machine for machine for the same or less money. I have 2 lathes in the shop. The oldest is a Seneca Falls Star #20 from 1916. It has a 10" throw and a 60" bed. It uses a 1 hp motor and that's more than sufficient. The newer one is a 1960 Sheldon MW-56-P. It uses a 2 hp motor and has a 13" throw with a 56" bed.