• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • PLEASE SUPPORT OUR FORUM - UPGRADE YOUR ACCOUNT HERE!
[4]

Tapping a large hole

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

spike7638

1. I'm a complete amateur machinist
  2. I've got access to basic machine tools ca 1980: no CNC or anything.

Back here https://www.hobby-machinist.com/threads/brazing-together-bronze-nuts.67149/page-2#post-562325 I was describing a piece I want to make. The first step is taking some 1 3/8 silicon bronze rod that I've got, facing and center-drilling one end, drilling a 21/32 hole about 1/2" deep or maybe a little deeper, and then facing, center drilling, and drilling a 3/4" hole from the other end to meet that one, leaving about 1/2" of 21/32. Then I'll tap the 21/32 to 3/4-10. Now I'll be able to run 3/4-10 threaded rod in from that end, and have it run through the larger hole in the remainder.

When I'm done, the piece will be about 2" long: the first half-inch threaded, about 1.5" of clearance hole. (The exact amount that's threaded doesn't matter much, as long as it's at least 0.4".)

I think I can do all that with some confidence on the lathe, although being sure not to make the clearance hole too deep will require a little care.

My problem is with tapping the 3/4-10 threads. I bought a nice fresh taper tap. I have some Tap Magic. I'd really like the tap to go in square to the hole. I see two choices: