The Truth be Told

I am a geologist and gunsmith. I can make you a gun from raw iron including the barrel with rifling. I've had more than one attack of the "high back" variety. There are MANY "experts (has been drip under pressure). I have developed a thicker skin and an uncanny ability to turn and walk away. My memory is intact if I ever run across them again...... I am also able to learn even today at my advanced age.

Billh,

God bless you.

The people on here desperately want to learn.
The US is a service economy now. We don't make anything anymore.
I'm not trying to be political, just realistic.
Older Americans have the knowledge.
When the people with knowledge pass, the knowledge is gone. Gone forever.
Unless we save it somehow, like on here, or on videos.
I want to do that. I feel that we need to manufacture things again.

I can't learn anything here in NYC. The manufacturing is basically gone here.
Machine shops are now lofts and studios for people to live in.
The nearest community college with courses is in Brentwood, a 2 hour trip with rush-hour traffic.
I paid $200 to reserve a spot, couldn't make it in time, and lost the money.

I am here to help when I can. But I have also learned a few things. Such as various setups for hard to hold parts, different ways to get the same results, etc. No one can ever say they know everything. But they can always share what they do know. This is the one site I visit every day because there is a lot of knowledge here and people willing to share that. Newbies are never given a hard time just because they ask a question. Because of that I am willing to help when I can.
The people here are always willing to help someone in any way they can. I know because some have helped me in various ways that make me thankfull I am a member here.