Thinking of buying an Atlas TH42 for about $1k.

jemin

Registered
Registered
Hi,
I am new to machining. I do not have any kind of engineering degree but after looking at a lot of youtube videos, I have decided to buy a lathe. Searching craigslist, I came across an Atlas Th42 for $1k. Additional costs are gas, renting a pick ($119) and driving 2.5 hours. The lathe itself looks to be in great shape. The owner is including a 4 jaw chuck, 13 collects, 3 jaw chuck,gears and a quick change tool post. Can some one please tell me if this is a good buy and weather this is a good lathe for a beginner. Any other advice and information is appreciated.

Thanks.
-J

Not a bad lathe to start with, If everything is working and it is in generally good condition it would be a little high, but still decent buy. The collets and QC toolpost are a nice bonus These lathes don't come up often in this area, I live just outside of Pottstown and found my 12" Craftsman up in Bensalem. See if you can locate a copy of the Craftsman Manual of Lathe Operations and this forum does have a Craftsman/Atlas section.

Do yourself a favor and watch these videos. I am linking only the first one to get you started. They are fine lathes for beginners.

Cutting oil is my blood.

Not a bad lathe to start with, If everything is working and it is in generally good condition it would be a little high, but still decent buy. The collets and QC toolpost are a nice bonus These lathes don't come up often in this area, I live just outside of Pottstown and found my 12" Craftsman up in Bensalem. See if you can locate a copy of the Craftsman Manual of Lathe Operations and this forum does have a Craftsman/Atlas section.
Hey Bill. Thank you. I am actually very close to Bensalem. Forgot to mention, he is also including the Manaual of Lathe operations with the lathe.

Do yourself a favor and watch these videos. I am linking only the first one to get you started. They are fine lathes for beginners.

Cutting oil is my blood.