Threading Bolt Handle

boostin53

Registered
Registered
Today a coworker and I made a trade. I ended up with a Howa 1500 in 308 Win. with a brand new Shilen match barrel and muzzle break. Also came with a brand new Vortex scope. I love the gun and haven't even shot it yet!

One thing I do not like is the bolt handle. Its too small for my liking. What I'm wanting to do is turn down the factory knob and thread it 5/16-24 and make my own knob. I'm just having a problem trying to figure the best way to hold the handle in the lathe securely. Pictures on the interwebs show some sort of fixture used to hold it. I dont have a mill so that's out lf the question. What does the hive say? Any ideas? I really don't want the bolt handle flying and bouncing around the shop! Haha

Here's the rifle. The barrel has also been freshly cerekoated (not sure on spelling)

image.jpeg

I'm a gunsmith by trade and I do mine by sawing and grinding the bolt knob close to size, using a file to get as close as possible, then threading it with a die. I've tried doing on the mill and lathe, ended up with a messed up bolt and several broken carbide inserts, and started doing it by hand. One thing to watch out for is that some bolt handles are actually cast and may have voids in them. A full 90% of the later model Remington bolts that I do have voids in them, so I thread them using the method above and either use red Loctite or Rockset to do a near-permanent installation.

To clarify just a bit, if you can hold the ball securely, you can use an endmill to remove the bulk of the material. I'm playing with the idea of either building or having a custom annular cutter made to avoid all of the extra steps. At the moment, I cut the sides close to square, then cut the corners, creating an octagon, then grind and file from there.

Done by hand:
There are commercial jigs available to mount the bolt in a lathe and turn the factory bolt down to a cylinder that can be threaded. Check out YouTube.