Threading Formula

egapelr

Registered
Registered
I write this note with the hope that you veteran machinists will be able to enlighten this hapless newbie. Newbie only as it pertains to lathe work and certainly not to my age. I refer to the calculations required to cut threads on my Atlas 10 inch lathe. Lets assume that I want to cut 16 TPI on a 3/8 inch rod. The tables found in the "Manual of Lathe Operations" provides the following information. Major diameter = 0.375, Minor diameter = 0.2938, Pitch = 1/16 = 0.0625, Single Depth of Thread = 0.0406. Assuming the compound is set at 30 degrees then the manual states that the depth of compound feed should be 0.054 for a Vee Form Tool.

I have read in other letters/publications that the measure of the depth of the compound slide travel is easily calculated by multiplying the pitch by Cos(30) which is 0.866. This in fact seems to work but I am befuddled by the math. Although its been a long time since I studied trigonometry I still understand the Pythagorean Theorem where the square of the two sides adjacent to the right angle of a triangle will equal the square of the hypotenuse which in this instance is the distance traveled by the compound slide. Another means of calculating the hypotenuse is to use the accepted formula Cosine(30) = Adjacent Side/Hypotenuse. This formula is found in math manuals and the Machinery's Handbook. If the pitch is adjacent to the 30 degree angle of the compound then Cos(30) = Pitch/Hypotenuse. Simplifying the formula then the Hypotenuse = Pitch/0.866. The answer by this method is 0.072. Note that the Pitch is divided by 0.866 and not multiplied as suggested by others.

Obviously the "Manual of Lathe Operations" has the correct values but I am stumped as to why I get a value of 0.072 using the Cosine formula and the square of the adjacent sides. Mathematically I am unable to understand how a value of 0.054 is obtained. I appreciate and thank everyone who will take the time to educate me.