• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • PLEASE SUPPORT OUR FORUM - UPGRADE YOUR ACCOUNT HERE!
[4]

TIG Auto Darkening Welding Helmets-Cheap or Expensive?

January Project of the Month [3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

Janderso

H-M Supporter - Premium Member
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
I am new to TIG welding. I purchased a Miller Diversion 180. Did some practicing last night. I was using Amazon's choice auto darkening for $40.
$40 seems pretty cheap. I was reading through some thread and they mentioned the biggest difference between the cheap helmets and the more expensive is clarity.
I did have a difficult time seeing what I was doing.
Your thoughts on this subject please.
I am going to a welding supply store today to pick up the shops new MIG Welder. I plan on buying a better helmet and some welding gloves.

ttabbal

AvE on YouTube did some tests and compared cheap helmets to brand name. He found that the cheap ones start out darker, block all the same harmful stuff, and darken a bit slower.

I wouldn't mind a nicer one for the lighter starting level. It would make setup and such easier. Not enough to pay that much more though. I don't weld enough to justify it. If I did it even weekly, I would probably do it though. I didn't notice a big difference in clarity from looking at them in the store, but I haven't welded with a nicer one in a long time. Mine is just a basic HF unit.

Bobby Bailey

Active User
I have an expensive one bought through our local Miller dealer and my son has a Harbor Freight one. HF works, but not as well in all conditions. And, the HF doesn't change as fast.

ACHiPo