Too big of a lathe?

8mpg

Registered
Registered
I have been looking for lathes for a while and ran across a Summit 16x60 w/ 4" through hole. Its larger than I planned on buying but its a good price. Hoping to look at it this week but Im wondering if it is too big. Its a 7.5hp motor and weighs 6000lbs. Im a beginner and this is going to be my first lathe. Is going with something this large a bad idea?

Not as far as i'm concerned. As long as you have room for it ,It will save you many dollars in not going small and working yourself up to a bigger one. Now if you get this one you can move along getting the tooling you need before you discover you need a Mill. :anon:

JMHO.

I have no idea what a Summit lathe is but 4" through the spindle is excellent.
I see that you are in Texas so this is often called an oil field lathe used for large down hole parts thus the large spindle bore.

Im going to have to look into how I'll run the thing. A VFD that big is questionable. My mill came with a home made rotary phase converter...but I dont know what it's limitations are.

I had to pass on a too-big lathe a few months back. A Meuser M-00-L of similar dimensions. It would have taken up half the shop! But you could probably mount a Wilton vise to the compound, it was solid. That's forever going to be the one that got away.

Go with a Rotary Phase Converter. You've probably got a back gear in the thing which could use the torque. I picked up an American Rotary ATX 7.5 to power a 3-phase subpanel (only two machines so far), but you'd probably need something bigger, like a 15. Bigger, unfortunately, also means much more expensive.

You'll need a shop crane or some such to change chucks. You'll also probably get really fast at centering work in a 4 jaw because changing chucks is such a PITA. Also, turning smaller diameter aluminum may be problematic, since the top speed will probably be fairly limited.