Tool Height Adjustment

grepper

Registered
Registered
How is this guy changing his tool height? It almost sounds like he ratchets it up.

Never mind. I guess he is just loosening the tool and using the using the screw adjustment.

See, you didn't really need us after all. But don't let that stop you from asking questions. This forum is a gold mine when it comes
to knowledge about everything having to do with machines and machining.
Welcome aboard.

CHuck the grumpy old guy

Thanks Grumpy old dude. :) I realized it was a rather stupid question shortly after posting it, but didn’t see any way to modify or delete the post.

I saw that video and wondered if there was some sort of QCTP that I had not seen, possibly with an internal worm gear for quick and smooth tool height adjustment. It almost seems like a good idea, but probably over engineering something that already works well.

This is my first lathe, so I’m a lathe noob. I’ve had it for about a week. I bought it (lightly used) from a guy who either didn’t care about or possible understand caring for a machine, so I spent most of that time tearing it down, cleaning, lubricating, adjusting… that sort of thing.

Interesting little machine, this HF 7x10. There is a lot I like about it, but I’m already thinking about ways to improve it. At least lapping the v-ways to smooth its movement, and possibly adding bearings to slider adjustment screws for starters.

I think with a little work, it will become a very cool little lathe.

Thanks for your patience with my noob questions! It’s truly appreciated.

Lapping the v-ways? Your machine, but I wouldn't recommend it. Do your other upgrades first.

And, welcome, a person can learn a lot here.

Ok, why not lap the v-ways?

The reason I was considering it was because the travel is not evenly smooth, no matter how I adjust the gib. I’ve played with the adjustment a lot trying to get it right. It gets especially tight when it’s fully cranked in.