Tool Makers calipers/dividers vs Spring calipers

dzarren

Registered
Registered
What is the difference between the tool makers dividers and the regular spring calipers?

From what I notice, the tool makers calipers never have a speed nut, just a regular nut. Perhaps the speed nut is less accurate? I dont really see why.

Also, i tend to see the ones described as tool makers calipers are typically round legged, as opposed to the regular rectangular stock "Spring Calipers."
I mean the tool makers calipers are also spring calipers..

Thanks!

In the majority of cases close enough is good enough.

I, shamelessly still use calipers and dividers frequently; sometimes, more precision instruments will not physically fit into the space being measured; I do this for both wood and metal working, I am a journeyman machinist of over 55 years experience, both in industry and in my own business.
One example of the necessity to use calipers is measuring a hole over a line boring bar, or a recess in a hole. I do like quick adjusting nuts on calipers, and would not think that they have any effect on accuracy. The only time that they would be inappropriate would be in measuring a recess in a hole when the caliper legs are pinched together to remove the tool , then releasing tension on the legs to get the measurement.
Also, I agree with the above poster, that close enough is quite often, good enough. Fits are often more important than sizes. A practiced machinist can easily work within .005 of a nominal size with caliper and rule.
I do not think that the toolmaker pattern calipers/dividers are any more suited to accurate work than the flat leg variety, they just look nicer --- at least to my eye.