Tools For Lathe And Mill From Shars And Enco

Status
Not open for further replies.

65Cobra427SC

Registered
Registered
11/29/2015: Added Enco to title since posts include comments from both.

I just finished setting up a PM1236 Lathe and PM932M-PDF Mill from Precision Matthews, but at this point I have zero tools and I've never used a lathe or mill before. So I'm not in a good position considering Black Friday is around the corner.

I plan to place an order with Enco, but Shars appears to sell some better quality items and they have a 20% off Sale starting tomorrow. I could really use some help making a list. I've listed a couple items I'm considering (prices before discount) but comments/additions are welcome. Thanks.

SKU202-0011 Pro Tram System 1/2" Shank With 0.25" .0005" Indicator $109
SKU 202-1279 Electronic Edge Finder $42.75
SKU404-9041 1/2"-1" M2AL 4pc Roughing End Mill Set $59.95
SKU303-5502 Ultra Precision 1-2-3 Block $24.50
(?) 2 Flute End Mill Set
(?) 4 Flute End Mill Set
(?) V Block(s)

Also looking at carbide tipped boring bar sets (plan to get one each of C2 and C6) but not sure of size(s)?

Last edited:
What makes you think Shars has better quality stuff than Enco? Shars sells almost exclusively offshore import tools while Enco sells everything from the same inexpensive import stuff to Starrett, Brown & Sharpe, and other tools that are highly regarded. MSC, KBC, Travers, and others do the same. Some of the offshore stuff is getting noticeably better with time, but I find it hit and miss from any of the suppliers, and regardless of the paper tag brand name on the box. Get all the catalogs and get on all their mailing and email lists. Then you can choose the best of the best deals as they appear. Do not be afraid to return any items that do not meet your standards.