Top adjustable gibs for 7x12 lathes

B

BRIAN

Forum Guest
Register Today
Hi all
This must be a subject dear to the hearts of all 7x? owners . I have put in the downloads a article on a mod I have been running for 2 years now with great success I hope it helps those of you who suffer from the Gib blues every now and again.
Its cheap easy to make and works Just let me know if it works for you Regards Brian

Hi Brian,

I want to congratulate you for your ingenious modification; it's simple to make and I'm sure it makes life a lot easier when one needs to adjust those horrible saddle slide plates.

Best regards,
Jose

Interesting idea. Too bad you didn't post it about 2 weeks ago when I had the saddle all torn apart. I wouldn have tried it, as adjusting those screws from underneath is a roal pain-in-the-butt.

Hi all
If you want to do this mod a few points worth bearing in mind

The parts can be made in advance just don't drill the holes in the gibs until you are sure of the hole spacing on your lathe.

You do not have to remove the apron just undo the screws and slide the saddle of the end of the bed.

The longest part for me was relieving the area for the front adjusting screws but if you have a mill this is easy.

If you leave the apron on you will have to put the clearance champher on the front gib

If you have any problems feel fre to ask.

Regards Brian

Hi,

One curious thing I found on my Einhell (Real Bull) was that the set screw just above the hand wheel is only 5 mm long and doesn't have a lock nut, while the other 3 are 10 mm long and have lock nuts. I tried replacing it with a screw with lock nut and it would interfere with the pinion, preventing the hand wheel from turning. I never saw this mentioned anywhere but I think it should be likewise in all Real Bull machines.
Any comments?

José

Hi Jose.