trouble installing 5C collet chuck

oldhank60

Registered
Registered
I thought it would be simple but noo it had to become complicated, I got the 5C chuck that quality sells, I found I really don't like it because I need to buy another chuck key one that does not have the spring on it,
yesterday was first time I tried to install the 5C collet chuck, no biggie right! it comes with the pins un a bag and you have to screw them in and then the lock bolts, no major thing except I did that and 1 pin would not tighten up. the pins on chuck D1-4 type all have location ring ( guess ) to make where or how long each should be. chuck did not have any direction on this, I have no experience at this.
Could some one please tell me how the 3 pins on a D1-4 camlock chuck are supposed to be installed correctly, and what to do if they don't lock up,

thank you Hank Kettler

The line on the pins are supposed to be at the level of the back of the chuck, then line up the scallop for the socket head cap screw and snug down that screw. This should allow the chuck to install on the spindle so that the indexing mark on the three spindle locking studs falls between 3 and 6 o'clock when the stud is locked.

The D1 stud in back of the chuck may feel slightly loose; they all seem to be that way.

That ring is just a starting point. All D1-4 mounts are not quite the same. Sometimes the pin does not have an indicating ring. I don't think any of my chuck mount pins have the ring (I think I have 8 devices with D1-4 mounts?). You probably just need to turn the pin in or out a turn. I have two lathes that are both D1-4, but if I want to swap chucks between them, I have to adjust the pins. Now that my chucks and face plates are set up for the respective machines, I just switch machines.

The point being, adjusting the pins to fit your spindle is a normal task.

This might help ...

Attachments

• Jacobs on D1-4 chuck mounting.doc
    52 KB · Views: 123