Trying to Weld Unknown Aluminum Scrap-No Success!

Janderso

Jeff Anderson
H-M Platinum Supporter
Hi,
I am trying to get to know my Miller Diversion 180 with regard to Aluminum.
I picked up some bent scraps at the local source. All I know is it is aluminum.
I have read that some aluminum alloys can't be welded, I guess I found one.
I have had success welding aluminum so I am not a total newb. but close.
I set the dials to "Aluminum", 1/8" = 105 amps AC.
The cleaning action is normal, the puddles will not join. I wait for the puddle to develop, introduce a bit of 4043 rod .093". The rod melts but will not come together.
I used a wire wheel, cleaned with acetone as always.
Anything obvious?
Thanks,
Jeff

IMG_0827[1].JPG

Can you show us some close-up results of an attempt?
Is it possibly magnesium? or something exotic like a titanium alloy?
-brino

Will do sir.
First thing in the morning

The first pic shows my setup, the second pic, I turned the top piece over.
I am running about 23lbs of argon.
As i recall, there was a film on top of the puddle that was gray to black. A fog of color, if that makes sense.

IMG_0829[1].JPG

IMG_0830[1].JPG

Jan, the black smudges look similar to a problem I had the first time I tried to use my spool gun. on my Hobart.
I discovered that the gas hose was not properly seated at the welder, so I wasn't getting any shielding gas.
It would melt the aluminum but it popped and crackled a lot and burned holes.

Check to make sure you've pushed the gas connector all the way in.

Hi Jeff,

Your cleaning practice sounds and looks great.
Your setup looks reasonable and your filler sounds right to me.

I find aluminum takes the heat away from the weld zone really quickly, way faster than steel.
I normally have to crank the current up to get the weld zone hot enough.

For 1/8 inch Al. I'd start around 125 Amps.....and maybe slightly higher when the base metal is "cold"