[How do I?] Turn A Curved Surface?

ArTrvlr

Registered
Registered
I am totally new to machining, although I feel I have an understanding of the processes involved. I have just ordered a Grizzly G0765. Also ordered some tooling items from LMS. I have a machining project that inspired the lathe purchase, but am unsure on one of the cuts to be made.

It is basically a pulley shape. It is actually a roller for a sliding door. The bottom of the outer groove is curved, unlike a V-belt pulley, which has flat sides and flat bottom. I think I understand how to make the cuts for that flat bottomed V, but am unsure how to control the bit to create a radius at the bottom of the groove. Once I get the lathe and practice on it some, the answer may become apparent, but I thought some tips from experienced chip makers would help.

Thanks in advance, jp

Form tool, turn a groove to the depth of the radius tangent using a narrow square parting tool then rotate the compound to the correct angles (if required) and turn the sides of the groove to width at the same depth, buy or grind a radius form tool and plunge to depth. I added the angles to make it easier to picture the process.

Like so.
groove_zps8hqw6n4m.jpg

You can grind a form tool and cut the whole pattern in one pass or use a graver, which is used like a wood turning tool, to shape the sides.

As others have stated, use a form tool.

Not to burst your bubble, but bearings for sliding doors are very cheap, and almost uneconomical to make :)

Unless they are unavailable in the size you need. And, you can use the need to make something as an excuse to buy a new tool! :grin:
Not to worry, pretty coon you'll be fixing door hinges and lawnmowers aplenty :) With great machine tools comes great repairs.....

Now why on earth would one buy a $2.00 part when he can make said part for $20.00 plus hours of labor?

Buy? BUY? wash your mouth out with soap and water!