Turning a 5MT to 5C Adapter Questions

Luminast

Active User
Registered
Greetings All,

Enthusiastic beginner here.

I recently acquired a nice set of 5C collets. I also have an old 5C draw bar that I acquired cheap. (It will need to be extended to fit my headstock.)

I don't have a collet chuck. I have more time than money and would like to try turning my own adapter to fit the 5MT headstock from a non-hardened 5MT to 3MT adapter that I already have. I'm a real rooky when it comes to boring. Can anyone take time to review the sequential steps in the process?

I have a bunch of questions in mind. Should I drill then bore, or start right out boring? How close should the fit be to the straight portion of the collet? Should I polish the straight section of the bore? How best to assure that the taper section is a properly fit? Should I polish the taper section? When I shorten the 5MT adapter enough to expose the outside threads of the collet, will the adapter still be long enough to properly center in the spindle? Sorry for the silly questions, but I've never even SEEN a 5C collet holder, except in pictures.

I read that you can buy these adapters from Grizzly, but I'd rather try making my own superior version.

No responses at all??

Any encouragement, cautions, or hints to "set me right" on my idea would be appreciated

Last edited:
Start with the Dimensions here and ask your questions again. Your first one was easy, you always drill first ans bore second. My question, "Are you trying to change the Spindle Taper?"

"Billy G"

http://www.loganact.com/tips/collet.htm

Luminast,

What brand and model of lathe are you working with? What is the headstock through hole diameter? Is the collet drawbar long enough for your lathe headstock?

I would like to do the same but have determined that my headstock through hole would not leave enough "meat" in the collet adapter to work well.

Vlad

Greetings All,

Enthusiastic beginner here.