[4]

Using a radial arm saw for metal cutting?

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

Jake2465

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
I have what appears to be a decent Craftsman radial arm saw (probably from the 1980s) that has a cast iron base that I have thought about using for cutting aluminum and steel. Does anyone know of those kind of saws can handle that load with a good metal blade? My current go to metal cutting saw is my cheap Skil 12" chop saw with a carbide blade. It just cant cut a very big piece with it's range of motion.

Eddyde

Bronze
Registered
I seriously wouldn't, and I'm the type that takes risks. I have a lot of experience with radial arm saws, they are prone to climb cutting which is a real hazard and even more likely in metal than wood.

Jake2465

I seriously wouldn't, and I'm the type that takes risks. I have a lot of experience with radial arm saws, they are prone to climb cutting which is a real hazard and even more likely in metal than wood.
Now, what if the saw is pushed away for the cut instead of pulled toward the operator? Would that help the climb cut issue?

Ray C

H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
Staff member
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
I would not advise this at all. Aluminum pulls and tugs like crazy when cut with a saw. Add that to the peculiar behaviors of a radial arm saw and I think that puts you in really dangerous territory.

magicniner

H-M Supporter - Silver Member
H-M Supporter - Silver Member ($10)
Put a heavy damper on the pivoting arm?

Eddyde

Bronze
Registered
Now, what if the saw is pushed away for the cut instead of pulled toward the operator? Would that help the climb cut issue?
It would be libel to pick up the edge of the work and throw it back towards the fence, yeah that may be away from you, but still not a good or safe scenario.

Jake2465