[Newbie] Using a stepper for power X-feed on a Sieg X2 mini-mill

VicHobbyGuy

Registered
Registered
This isn't a question about CNC, but about stepper motors and how to control them, and I think most of the stepper experts are probably here.
Moderators: Please move this post if it's not an appropriate spot for it.
I'm putting powered X drive on my X2 mini-mill - "upgrading" from the cordless drill on the handwheel. :) I'm a complete novice with both the mill and stepper motors.
It's a very simple plan - a DIY 555-based pulse generator connected to a DM542T stepper driver. The 555 generator has a pot for frequency control, with a fixed resistor over-ride for fast traversing of the table.
I've got the motor running. I still don't understand the settings on the driver and how to use them appropriately. To set the speed range for the motor, is it better to change the pulse/rev setting on the 542T (via the DIP switches) or to change the frequency range of the 555 circuit (by changing capacitor values) ? Or does it matter?

I would start learning the mill by hand feeding. Than you get a feeling of the cutting forces, hear the noise the end mill makes and see the finish of the cutting edge. Once you are familiar with the mill, you could add a stepper motor.

On the 542 you can set the micro steps, not the pulses/rev. Because most stepper motors require 200 full steps/rev you find these steps/rev values on your driver.
200 steps/rev = full step = 1 micro stepping, 400 steps/rev = half step = 2 micro stepping, 800 steps/rev = 4 microstepping.
When you double the micro stepping, you double the resolution, you reduce the noise the stepper makes but you lose about 30% torque. Also, the faster the stepper runs, the lower the stepper torque.
Digital stepper drivers like the DM542T can switch to full step at higher step rates. Depending on your demands, you could use 4 micro steps and still benefit from the full step torque.