Using End Mill For Side Milling

HBilly1022

Registered
Registered
I'm new to milling and just getting some hours in with the new mill. I've squared up a block and my el cheapo vise that came with the mill and things were looking good until a few hrs ago. I finished using a 3/4" end mill to face 4 sides of a 1 1/2" thick mild steel block that was 3" wide and 6" long and figured I would use the end mill to side mill the ends of the block, rather than try to stand it on end and get it square to the other surfaces. Started out ok but I noticed it was getting harder to cut so I stopped and checked the cutter. The bottom sides of the cutter that were below the DOC were still very sharp but the sides of the cutter that were doing the work were dull. I started taking 0.005" deep cuts and backed off to 0.002" as I progressed but dull is dull and it was obviously not getting better so I stopped.

Is this the wrong way to go about side milling and if so what is the right way?

Thats what it looks like 'dull & duller". If something you are doing time to time, I would
buy a roughing end mill then finish with a new end mill. We get into this a lot and thats
why we have a shaper. The reason, there are no suppliers around here for end mills, so
if in the middle of a job & break or dull one, thats time waiting for UPS, and the old story
everybody wants something yesterday. Such a shame, if this was in the 1950s I could
walk & get anything right here, the famous Lincoln twist drill mfg. end mills gear cutters
you name it, now there's low cost housing there now...... I'm now ranting again wife says
I'm whining again?
sam

Sounds like a cheap end mill. Buy a good name brand or, as suggested a rougher but buy GOOD quality cutters. They may cost more initially but will make up for it in how long you are able to use it.

Do you know the difference between conventional and climb milling? With those depth of cuts it sounds like climb milling.