Van Norman No 16 - Just Picked Up

makerkid

Registered
Registered
image.png Hi All,

I'm new to the forum. I'm a hobbyist and I enjoy working on old equipment and machinery and in general makin stuff. I've wanted a mill for years but never made it happen...but I stumbled on an opportunity to pick up a Van Norman no 16, the price was decent so I went for it. Glad I did. Been wanting a Van Norman. I think it's in decent shape. It's missing the Overarm support, had no tooling, so I've been hunting for collets, and agonizing over the Hardinge 5v prices. I cleaned it up a bit, the Y axis was pretty tight, and put new fluids in...will wire it up today and try to make some chips, need to mill a spindle key for it.

image.png

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum. Looks like a nice score on the Van Norman. You can make the overarm support if you can't find one. Sorry, I know nothing about the collets for that machine, or much else for that matter. I do know from other old machines that if you can get a couple collets to fit it, then you can make or otherwise acquire more reasonably priced tool holding systems with straight shanks to fit the collets you have.

Thanks Bob, I don't know if I will ever find the overarm support, but I found a few Collets on Ebay.
Thats a start. I hope to be able to do what you suggested, and run other straight shank tools in the spindle if I can find the larger collets say 1/2 to 3/4 inch. I may try to make some tooling as well. Could be a fun projects.

You won't find the over ram support. As for collects and other stuff, eBay is about your best choice. They seem to show up in bursts. The 3/4" collet is expensive, the only one to come up on eBay in the last year sold for $145, Hardinge will sell you a new one for $155. It will take time, but you'll find what you need.

Jason