VFD on PrecisionMatthews PM-935TS

Ted J.

Registered
Registered
Hi folks:
I'm new to the reflector, so my apologies if this is an oft-repeated question.
My PM-935TS mill showed up this month, and I'm learning a bit about adding a VFD to this.

I expect to use the Hitachi WJ200-022sf.

I need an enclosure (with adequate space as per the VFD's manual), correct?

Should I use the existing REV/STOP/FOR switch on the mill, and add to this a speed potentiometer?
(such as a 10K one turn pot kit)?

Or should the existing switch be replaced with a new unit, say an FMX unit at one of the on-line distributors with an
EMER STOP/ FOR-REV / 10K pot in one box?

Should I consider a adding a resistor for braking? I'm not doing particularly heavy work, but is this a convenience to consider?

I do operate radio equipment (ham radio op) in this building. Should I consider adding an RF noise filter, such as Hitachi's ZCL-B40?
This looks like an iron core winding that wires simply go around a few times. Input or output of VFD, or both?

Its about 2.5 yards to the breaker box. Do I need shielded cables or anything like that?

Any suggestions are welcome! Or point me elsewhere where these questions have already been addressed!
I'm going to have an electrician do the work. I just want to make sure I have all of the pieces on hand!

Thanks,
Ted

If you're a ham operator you probably already have the skills you need to accomplish this, or you could learn pretty quick. With the breaker box being that close it's easy to DIY the electrical hook-up. You could use a plug or a 220v disconnect, it's only three wires.