VFD stopping

Downwindtracker2

Active User
Registered
A basic question, machinery, in this case a lathe, needs two types of stop, hard and soft. I'm a retired millwright with just basic electrical and computer skills, so please be understanding. I'm wiring up a Hitachi WJ200 VFD . The hard, E-stop seems easy enough to program and wire , there is section on that in the big manual,but the soft has me puzzled. I get the part about run forward and run reverse, pins 1 and 2. Is soft stop automatic with switching off of RUN ? THX

Is soft stop automatic with switching off of RUN ?
Yes, you set that with the deceleration parameter. If your VFD will accept a braking resistor then it will stop the spindle a bit faster if that is installed. Without a braking resistor it may need as much as 5 seconds of decel, maybe 1 or 2 seconds with the braking resistor.

I am not an expert but yes the soft stop is adjustable through the programing. It can be changed for how fast or slowly you want.