VFD'ing my lathe (Takisawa TSL 1000)

umnik

Registered
Registered
VFD'ing my lathe (Takisawa TSL 1000)

I've recently got new (to me) lathe which is 3 phase. I do not have 3ph in my possession and need to do something about it to get my lathe running. I decided to go VFD route, to have some advantages of these motor drives. I've got some experience with VFD already, converting my drill press, but it was not complicated system, just variable speed and fwd/rev. Now I want to add some more features in the system for my lathe. I decided to start that thread to discuss whole system, hear advises and suggestions and I think it could be helpful for other folks who want to go VFD route, taking into account how complcated the topic can became.

What I want as I am thinking for now.
1. Variable speed control using external resistor;
2. Instant Fwd/Rev, likely employing built in Lever for that;
3. Quick stop using VFD and external resistor.

What I already have.
1. VFD Invertek ODE-3-320153-1042, 5 HP, 230V 1-Phase In;
2. Braking resistor 100ohm, 1000W

Lathe
two speed motor. 5hp 4 pole high speed and 3hp 6 pole low speed.
lever - Rev/Stop/Fwd which I am thinking to use as external control for VFD.
Has working coolant system, but the motor is 3ph. Likely it's better just replace it with similar single phase variant.

I am planing to get Electrical box/panel top put vfd into it, but still do not know if I should put the rest elctrical stuff into that box or just reuse lathe's current electrical box.

The lathe has (from top to bottom):
* rotary switch LO/HI for motor, which will be obsolete and can be reused for other purposes;
* ON Light indicator;
* ON/OFF rotary switch;
* Coolant ON/OFF rotary switch;

I see that folks here put proximity sensor and joggers, but can not understand what exactly they do what purpose they serve.

Anything else should I consider?

20190925_224629.jpg