VIDEO: Scraping in a lathe's top slide (with tapered gib)

HMF

Site Founder
Administrator
While Richard's away, thought you guys might like this video:

[video=youtube_share;esAqz6bCVyQ]http://youtu.be/esAqz6bCVyQ[/video]

So, when you are scraping, are you only scraping the the (raised) sections that have the blue dykem on them? Cause it looks like you are just sort of randomly picking spots to scrape in the video, but somehow you end up with a very uniform surface. (warning: I have zero knowledge of how scraping is done, but I would really like to learn). And then going back and forth with the test and scraping until you get a uniform blue?

While you are scraping, how do you know how deep to dig with the scraper, so that you aren't just creating bigger issues? Or the scraper sort of self-limiting in how deep it will scrape at a given point?

i'm fascinated by the video and the scraping process. until about a year ago i had not known of the process.
i'll be interested to find out more about it!
thanks for the post!
:man:

I've been working on a compound about three times bigger than that one since before Christmas as time will allow. Almost have 90% contact on the flats, next will be refitting the tapered gib and last, relocating the nut.

DSCN1393.JPG

JayChris

The video is using a Biax power scraper and is an advanced technic. You can very the speed and stroke of the scraper.

When hand scraping you want to only remove the high spots and leave the low spots. You are shooting to get the high spots equal to the low spots. Generally speaking when hand scraping you are removing between .0002" and .0005" depending on how much pressure you apply to the scraper. You try and be consistent with your pressure.

As you continue to scrap to a known flat surface you strive to get more points per square inch (PPI) and percentage of points (POP). Machine ways shoot for 20PPI and 40%POP. For reference surfaces like you saw in the video you shoot for 40PPI and 40POP