Vise mounting

lakebom184

Registered
Registered
Total newby with an enco rf 30 mill and enco swivel vise. How do I mount the vise and read somewhere I would be better to eliminate the swivel part. Please be specific as possible. Many,many thanks!

Vise should have two ears on the side where it is bolted down to the swivel base. Remove bolts and lift the vise off the base.
Set base in corner where you will trip over it for the next 20 years.
Vise is set on mill table and bolted down to the T slots using a 2 T nuts, studs and nuts and washers.

Once the vise is sitting on the table and the tnuts are in place and loose you will need to align the fixed jaw of the vise with the direction of travel of the mill.

Mount a dial indicator onto the head of the mill so the tip is resting against the vertical wall of the fixed jaw. I use a test indicator (type with the wiggly finger, not a plunger but you can use what you have) indicator is mounted on a rod held in a collet in the spindle.

My mill is set so I have good access to the handwheel on the right side of the mill and I am right handed.

I pre align the vise where I can visibly see the left side of the vise is closer to the column than the right.
Snug the right hand bolt on the vise.
Set the indicator in place on the right end of the vise with .010 inches of preload or so on the tip.
Pickup a soft blow mallet in your left hand.
Begin cranking the handwheel with right hand and tapping the front side of the vise with hammer in left hand.
Goal is to have the indicator needle not moving as you crank across.
when you run off the vise jaw, return to start and repeat cranking and tapping until needle does not move. .001 inches motion in a 6 inch jaw is okay. I can usually hit half that in two trips across the vise.
tighten the left hand bolt then right hand. Recheck indicator reading.
It sounds more complicated than it is, you can learn this skill in a couple of tries