Want to mill T slots, need suggestions please.

Dhector

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
My plan in the next couple days is try to machine t slots for an angle table I'm trying to make. I have a piece of steel and I am currently milling the .625 groove to depth, just started so it will be at earliest tomorrow night before I attempt the t slots. I have a couple woodruff key cutters and plan on using them, when the .625 grooves are cut to depth.
I read to cut one side at a time, but cant do that with the tools I have. I would have to cut both sides of the T at the same time, with the .625 center already cut to depth. I know I'm in over my head, but am I seriously in over my head???? Like it will be too hard to do what I want to? Would love to tell you what steel it is, but as usual, I dont have a clue. I have a 9x49 MSC mill, no Schooling, just self taught, aside from what I've learned here.
Would a mister be sufficient? I realize chip removal is paramount so I might even hook up an air source if you think it would help. Any input is appreciated. I'm going to give it a try no matter what, but if there is anything you think I need to know about before I start, i would really like to hear what you have to say. Thank you.

I've been taking pics, but dont want to post until its finished. I bit off a lot more than maybe i should have but i like the challenge!!! If and when i finish it i will post pics. Thanks again.

They make different size woodruff cutters . If you can , rough it out with a smaller cutter and then step up . Chip removal is a must as is cutting oil .

Hope you have a power feed . :)

They make different size woodruff cutters . If you can , rough it out with a smaller cutter and then step up . Chip removal is a must as is cutting oil .

Hope you have a power feed . :)