[4]

Warco Enco Gh1440a Lathe

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

jeff_g1137

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Jul 31, 2013
Messages
305
Likes
86
#1
GH1440A 1.JPG Hi
I am thinking of getting a warco 1440 lathe , it is the same as the Enco 1340 or 1440.
what do you think ??????????
Any info on the lathe would be great, is it any good or bad ?????
I have to bid on it this week, so please be quick, likes dislikes, any thing. lol
 
Last edited:

rock_breaker

H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Dec 31, 2010
Messages
539
Likes
262
#2
My Enco 1340 has different gear shifting leavers and some differences in the carriage but I am sure they will do the same functions.
Looking at the picture I get the impression the chucks and face-plate are threaded, my Enco has the D1-3 back plate.
The Warco has five accessories I did not get, a carriage stop, a work light, a foot stop bar, a shielded threading lead screw and a chip shield.
What type of power does the Warco require, 120 or 240 volt? and the weight may influence your decision.
Good Luck
Ray
 

jeff_g1137

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Jul 31, 2013
Messages
305
Likes
86
#3
Hi Ray
It has a D1-4 spindle, & has a 2 speed motor 440v.
Weight is 750 kg, 3/4 of a ton.
How long have you had yours, is it a good machine.

Jeff
 

rock_breaker

H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Dec 31, 2010
Messages
539
Likes
262
#4
It is a good machine, I have had it three years, not finished as well as some of the USA manufactured machines and it does require a certain amount of "getting used to". I like the 1-3/8" in bore in the spindle and the slower carriage speeds available. So far it has not lacked power or functionality. It has larger dials on the adjustment screws than my Clausing which is a plus. Not sure why the problem with the carriage clamp left the factory; the clamp would not hold the carriage while doing facing work. I cured the problem by replacing the existing flat strap clamp with an angle iron (more L shaped) unit. I also added shelving in the bottom of the cabinets so heavy items would not have to be lifted 3 inches to get them out of the cabinet.
Have a good day
Ray
 

jeff_g1137

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Jul 31, 2013
Messages
305
Likes
86
#5
Hi
I won the lathe, paid £1800 + vat 20% £360, $3300
It is in good nick, all the bits are there, its like new. :big grin:
It will be delivered in 2 weeks, i will post photos.
I have to get the garage sorted out first,
 

jeff_g1137

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Jul 31, 2013
Messages
305
Likes
86
#6
Hi
The lathe arrived today, over the moon,:grin::grin: the last 3-4 mills i was looking at got away.
I spent a week sorting out the garage out to make more room for the lathe.
I now have to sell my old one a Denford viceroy 10 x 22 lathe, i never got around the get it running,
I will get some photos this week, but now i have the jobs on the house to get done (pay back for the wife).

jeff:cheerful:
 

jeff_g1137

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Jul 31, 2013
Messages
305
Likes
86
#7
Hi

The lathe arrived but I did not get any photos, it was raining

& we had to get it indoors fast.

This is my workshop after 2 weeks of moving things about,

to make more room for the lathe. The workshop this only 24ft x 12ft, all the crap went in the 3 sheds I have.

workshop.jpg

This is, The seat of power, lol I have a bad back, so I sit as often

as I can.

seat of power.jpg



My welding table.

welding bench.jpg



My toolboxes.

my new toolbox.jpg

every thing is on wheels.jpg


The lathe is in the top of the workshop, it is the only place it can go & still leave room for working on my bike & welding.

Plan.JPG


Photos of the lathe

new lathe.jpg

lathe head.jpg

chuck 3 & 4 jaw.jpg

carriage.jpg

cross slide & tool post.jpg

tailstock.jpg

change gears.jpg

tool kit & paint + mt3 to mt5.jpg

All for now
jeff
 
Last edited:

jeff_g1137

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Jul 31, 2013
Messages
305
Likes
86
#8
Hi
This is the best manual I have found on the GH1440 lathe.

Hope somebody finds it useful.
 

Attachments

jeff_g1137

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Jul 31, 2013
Messages
305
Likes
86
#9
Hi

Today I checked all the change gears, made certain all the gears are there & the right number of teeth, most of the gears have not been used.

It came with a small toolkit & paint.

Now I have to set up my VFD to run the motor, the motor is two speed, do I use the fast or the slow speed, ???
The fast speed is 2 pole & the slow is 4 pole.
 
T

TOOLMASTER

Guest - Please Register!
Guest - Please Register!
#10
nice lathe
 

jeff_g1137

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Jul 31, 2013
Messages
305
Likes
86
#11
Hi
Thanks


The 80mm ANTI-VIBRATION Machine Levelling Mounts from Germany came in today, I have 4 of them & needed another 2, to make up 6 for the lathe.

The ANTI-VIBRATION pads are good for 500 kgs apiece.

The shipping was a bit of a killer but I could not find any in the UK.

AV1.jpg

AV2.jpg

AV3.jpg

thanks jeff
 

tertiaryjim

Active User
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
609
Likes
320
#12
Wow Jeff. Really nice lathe and shop.
A manual should tell how to wire that motor so it matches the listed speeds.
With 16 speeds a vfd seems like overrkill. LOL
That table lift is a must. Got one a while back and though I've only used it a few times I feel it's paid for itself.
 

jeff_g1137

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Jul 31, 2013
Messages
305
Likes
86
#13
Hi tertiaryjim or is it just jim lol
Thanks for the compliment on the lathe & shop, i have far to much crap, that i never throw away.
The motor is 440v 3ph & my feed is 240v 1ph, so i do not need the Variable speed, but i do need the VFD.
I will see if the motor is 440v-240v today if not i will have to get a 1 speed motor, & lose 8 of the speeds.
The table lift is great, i got it for welding, i have a bad back & getting the job at the right height makes the job a lot easier & painless.
Moving stuff about is great, it will go up to 3' 6" so i can move my drill press around the shop, put my chop saw on, the list is endless.

Thanks jeff
 

tertiaryjim

Active User
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
609
Likes
320
#14
Looking at the lathe it seems to have 16 geared speeds so no speeds should be lost unless it also has a switch for changing motor speed to get the second range.
Lift tables are great. If I tried to carry heavy objects my body parts might fall off.
Space is always a premium item.

Jim
 

jeff_g1137

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Jul 31, 2013
Messages
305
Likes
86
#15
Hi Jim
It's a 2 speed motor, but most 2 speed motors are 440v & do not have 2 voltages, most 1 speed, new motors have 2 voltages 440v & 240v.
Do not get look at the motor to day, will try Sunday.
The garage is only 16' x 12' fairly big for the UK. I have 2 sheds & a van, that is shed 3 lol
 

jeff_g1137

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Jul 31, 2013
Messages
305
Likes
86
#16
Hi

My back went out this week so I did not got a lot done,

But I did get a photo of the motor name plate. But the 2 speed motor is 440v, I can use a VFD, Variable Frequency Inverter Drive, but I will lose power & torque.

So I rang the shop I got my VFD from & had a chat, nice guy.

He offered me a 2.2 kw, 6 pole, 945 RPM Motor, the motor that was on the lathe was a 2 speed, 700/1410 RPM 4/8 pole.

The new motor is a type YD112 m frame, the shaft is the same size as the old one, It should be an easy change. Lol

With 8 gear changes I will get 36-1700 RPM & still have loads

Of power & torque, with a top speed of over 2000 RPM.

I will order the motor & any parts I need,next week.

Jeff

Ps
The 06 4 on the name plate, makes me think it is a 2005 Lathe ???

motor 1.jpg


Motor 2.jpg

Thanks Jeff
 

tertiaryjim

Active User
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
609
Likes
320
#17
Lot's of speed range there. Sounds mighty good.
Taking a close look at the pictures, that lathe design looks a lot like the Nardini lathes.
Hope your back is doing better!
I'm still learning to do things without doing damage to myself. Old habits die hard.
Do the O-rings on the anti-vibration pads hold onto the pad when the shaft is lifted ?
I really need to make something like those for my lathe. And I did a poor job on the stand . Should make a better one or figure how to reinforce it.

Jim
 

jeff_g1137

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Jul 31, 2013
Messages
305
Likes
86
#18
Hi
"Do the O-rings on the anti-vibration pads hold onto the pad when the shaft is lifted ?"
Yes on all but one, on the 4 old pads, must get new O-rings for it.

"Hope your back is doing better!"
Still think i am 20 not 64, one wrong move & out it go's.

Jeff
 

jeff_g1137

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Jul 31, 2013
Messages
305
Likes
86
#19
Hi
I just worked out the speeds for the new motor.


Lathe speeds VFD.jpg
 

tertiaryjim

Active User
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
609
Likes
320
#21
I don't know much, close to nothing, about the motors but it seems to have good ratings.
 

printcom

Newbie
Registered
Joined
Aug 18, 2017
Messages
10
Likes
0
#22
I have the same lathe, albeit not as pretty as yours. If it helps I looked into all sort of phase inverter options as I only have access to single phase supply. This was a few years ago and I cant remember exactly what the problem was but it was something due the way they are wound the two speed motor caused issues with a phase inverter. I ended up using a 4Kw rotary converter which I found on ebay for silly money.
 

jeff_g1137

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Jul 31, 2013
Messages
305
Likes
86
#23
Hi printcom
I had to buy a new motor £167 + vat to work with my VFD.
All the rotary converters on eBay was £600-900.
jeff
 

Sandia

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Sep 30, 2012
Messages
512
Likes
191
#24
Good going on the new lathe Jeff. Doesn't look like it was used very much. Welcome aboard.
 

printcom

Newbie
Registered
Joined
Aug 18, 2017
Messages
10
Likes
0
#25
Hi Jeff,
Ouch, I must have been lucky as I found a Boost Energy systems A4 for £250, The bonus is that I use it for the mill and bandsaw as well. I have only just found this forum, looks like a good place to be.
 

jeff_g1137

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Jul 31, 2013
Messages
305
Likes
86
#26
Hi printcom
Yes, one of the best forum's.
I have just got a s/h Aloris tool post & 10 tool holder for it, the holders are from the China via USA, will get them on the lathe in the next 2-3 weeks,
i am waiting for a Aluminum Extrusion to come, i have 25 tool holder brackets from Jay, off this forum, when i get the extrusion i will fit it to the back of the lathe.
Have you changed the oil in the lathe yet, if so what oil & iso.
How long have you had your lathe, is it a Warco.

Hi Bob
Thanks yes it is like new, & all there.

jeff
 

printcom

Newbie
Registered
Joined
Aug 18, 2017
Messages
10
Likes
0
#27
Hi Jeff
You will enjoy that, a QC toolpost makes all the difference. I have a Dickson type on mine but could do with a few more tool holders.
I was going to ask you about the oil, I am not sure what is a alternative for Shell Tellus. More research needed.
No its not a Warco. I believe it was sold as a BSA 1440 when I got it about 3 years ago.
I know that a lot of folk knock the Chinese lathes but compared to a knackered Harrison M300 I used to use its a Rolls Royce. The only complaint I have is that it can be a faff to change feed speeds and the spindle speeds dont have much in the way of a positive indication. Oh, and I really, really need a bigger spindle bore.
I will post a few photos later on.
 

jeff_g1137

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Jul 31, 2013
Messages
305
Likes
86
#28
Hi
What size is the spindle bore, on my lathe it is 38mm, 1"1/2.

33913113900_6a3dfcf6a1_o.jpg
It will look like this, but i only have 11 BXA holders. lol
CIMG0154.JPG
GN1440a 22.jpg
This is how i got it,
 

jeff_g1137

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Jul 31, 2013
Messages
305
Likes
86
#29
Hi
There is a manual at the top of the thread.
 

printcom

Newbie
Registered
Joined
Aug 18, 2017
Messages
10
Likes
0
#30
Jeez Jeff, I haven't got that many tools:) I will post some photos tomorrow (after cleaning it up I'm ashamed to say) Yes my spindle bore is the same but for some reason the farmers around here only seem to break the stuff that is bigger than that. I am in the process of moving, when that is sorted I am considering one of Warco's GH-1660's or possibly larger.
This is what it looked like when I first got it. lathe.jpg
 
[6]
[5] [7]
Top