What am I doing wrong?

matzo

Registered
Registered
My threads are not vertical but seem to layover to one side. Using a sharpe 60 degree cutter, compound set at 29 1/2 degrees, cutter at 90 degrees to work.

I have added some photos of my setup. The pictures of the thread were taken through a magnifying light. I am keeping the cross slide at zero and feeding with the compound.

IMG_1620.JPG

IMG_1621.JPG

fullsizeoutput_7c4.jpeg

IMG_1627.JPG

IMG_1628.JPG

Last edited:
I am far from an expert BUT did you use a fishtail device to set the V at 90 degrees to the work

Just looking at it it would appear that your cutter is not 90° to the work or your cutting bit is not evenly ground to 60° triangle so that both sides are equal.

Going by the thread work it looks like the right side is at the 60° cutting angle but the left side is at 90°.

When feeding the cutting bit into the work you do so using the compound that is set to the 29.5° so that the bit cuts only on 1 side of the bit instead of plunging the tool bit into the work at 90° which will cut on 2 sides at the same time. Hope this helps some.

Please post a few pictures of your cutting tool so we can possibly tell you more.

You have just cut your first successful buttress thread. Just kidding.
I agree that you need to use a center gauge to get your tool perpendicular to your work.

Very interesting looking work piece. I assume the odd shape of the work is an artifact of the lens? It looks trumpet shaped in one picture and bent in the other.

With regard to your thread form, I suspect the issue is that the compound is set at the wrong angle. Set it to 60.5 degrees and try again.

Looks like a buttress thread :) I'm going to guess that your compound is set to 29.5° from the wrong start point. Start from the compound at 90° to the lathe centerline and rotate 29.5° counterclockwise.