What brings us all here to the Hobby Machine website ?

I note that nearly everyone on here is from the US of A so just to be different, I'm from England
.I'm retired now but I used to be a quality engineer/manager at an aerospace company, making parts for the Apache helicopter, various Boeing and Airbus aircraft as well as the REALLY interesting stuff such as a new pilots seat for a German ME 109, some parts for the Lancaster bomber and others.
I've been a model engineer since I first got my hands on a lathe and am interested in pre 1900 traction engines.
I'm not a professional machinist so a site like this is invaluable for the information it contains and the people you can correspond with.
Brian

Always interested in mechanical things. Dad owned a salvage yard and a small hobby farm while I was growing up so I was thrown into that by design. He was a machinist working for Civil Service until retirement. I thought that's what I want to do so took vo tech in high school. Turned out senior year 1979 as a OJT machinist for a oilfield production shop running a wore out 3a WS Turret lathe. Bounced around from job shop and production shops for about 10 years then to a Mack Truck shop as a diesel mech for a couple years. Owned my own countertop business for a few but tired of the ups and downs. Finally found my niche in a manufacturing facility 26 years ago as a maintenance mechanic/machinist. Should retire in a few years. Along the way I have collected a B&S horizontal universal light #2 mill. I liked the format and the variety of people here so I keep coming back. Always learn something new from you guys.

I couldn't even spell laythe when I got here. :grin: Seriously, I have been in the collision repair industry my entire adult life. Do lots of woodworking in my home shop. Just getting into machining. Seemed like a great place to learn a thing or 20. Found it while researching mini lathe operations. Great place with an incredible wealth of knowledgeable folks!