What collets for my Craftsman 6"?

teledan

Registered
Registered
Hey guys, I am thinking about getting some collets for my 6" Craftsman (with the MT2 1"-10 spindle) and am wondering which way to go. I am thinking either a set of MT2 collets or an ER32 collet chuck with an MT2 shank. What would be the pros and cons between these two setups? I am kind of leaning towards the ER32 chuck as it seems like it would be a bit more versatile but I am very new to all of this so I wanted to ask your opinions. Just to give some context, I currently only have a 4jaw independent chuck and I do not have a 3jaw scroll chuck. Most of the work I do is smaller so I figured a set of collets would complement my 4jaw well.

I am thinking either a set of MT2 collets or an ER32 collet chuck with an MT2 shank. What would be the pros and cons between these two setups?

I'm not clear on these things myself, but it seems to me that a better set up would be to have an ER32 collet that mounts on the chuck threads. I'm thinking this would allow stock to go further into the lathe spindle and even feed rods through the lathe spindle. If you have an ER32 collet chuck with an MT2 taper you lose the through-hole capability.

I could be wrong about this, But that's my current understanding of how these things work in general. My lathe has an MT3 taper in the spindle. I just bought a set of MT3 collets. But because of their design they do not allow the stock to be push into the chuck more than a couple inches. It's my understanding that if I went with an ER32 collet that mounts on the chuck spindle instead of using the MT3 taper, I could then feed entire rods through the spindle up to 3/4" in diameter and hold them in the ER32 collets.

But if I went with an ER32 chuck that mounts with an MT3 taper I'd have the same limitation as the MT3 collets have. Only a couple inches of stock could be put into the collets.