What kind of welder to get?

HarryJM

Registered
Registered
Hey everyone,

I’m in the process of converting my 10’x14’ backyard shed into my workshop and currently researching what kind of welder to buy. I currently do not have power and plan on having a 30 amp panel installed.

So as usual first question will be “what kind of welding are you planning on doing?” and that can be answered with a little of my background and future plans.
In my mid-20’s to mid-30’s I worked as a motorcycle mechanic and was fairly proficient with acetylene and arch welding and one winter I had a full time job TIG or MIG (not sure) welding galvanized. Now, in my very early 70’s I work in the IT department of a trucking company and plan on retiring in within a few years to start my metal working phase of life. So far I have purchased a Logan 10” lathe, Burke 124 horizontal end mill with vertical attachment, Craftsman/Atlas power hacksaw, and a Craftsman 150 drill press.

I can think of several hobby type projects where a welder would be useful to have such as building a: lathe steady rest, drill press slow speed attachment, bench belt sander, etc.

My understanding is that there are several common types of welding:
Arc
MIG
TIG
Flue-core
Acetylene

So what kind of welder did you buy, why did you buy it and what do you use it for?

Price wise I would like to keep it under five hundred dollars.

Thanks in advance for your help.
Harry

First piece of advice is to bump your power up. 30 amps for a shop is a bit too light.

I will leave the advice on what welder to get because I am not much good at staying within budgets.

I agree as to your electrical power, 30 amps is too little; better 50, best 100A; that would cover any welding machine(s) that you might want now or in the future. I'd focus first on a MIG machine, then one that could do TIG and stick; acetylene is good to have too. Budgets ?????????? not in my vocabulary.