[4]

What sort of stuff to get with a 10x30 lathe?

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

Creativechipper

H-M Supporter - Silver Member
H-M Supporter - Silver Member ($10)
Hello Everyone, new member here. I have been reading for about a month and finally jumping in!!

I am looking to make some steel and aluminum flashlights eventually.

What sort of tooling should I be on the look out for, as I only have a 1/4" carbide turning tool plus a SCLCR lathe boring internal bar holder with carbide tips.

I am thinking about making a machinist hammer as a 1st project.

I have a spare room inside my house, is it ok to set up inside vs a garage?

Please let me know any advice, ideas, etc as I am completely new to machining.

Thanks for any help you can provide, I need it..lol

Z2V

H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Welcome to H-M. I’ll offer this, if you have the option of setting up shop in a controlled environment such as a spare room instead of the garage, go for it. Less rust to deal with on your tools.

Norseman C.B.

Registered
Welcome, Buy your basic tooling, and enjoy spending all your allowance for the never ending need for more tools, to make more tools
so you can buy more tools to make more tools and.........................:laughing:

Creativechipper

Thanks, I see a never ending amount of tooling in my future..haha

shooter123456

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
I have the same lathe! Good choice, I am very fond of mine.

First, if you can set it up inside, do it. My shop is in the garage and it gets really hot and humid in the summer. That means I am always fighting rust and some days its just too hot to work. But know that these machines are messy so if there is carpet, it will probably be ruined and you will probably fling oil onto the walls.

For stuff to get:
1. If you didnt get the QCTP (is it standard now?), get it.