What SS rod for fishing gaff

Aukai

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
Having been a commercial fisherman as well as a paramedic, I have always been wondering about putting together hand gaffs for the boat. What grade would be able to be bent to shape, but resist pulling open under the weight of a heavy fish. I may have to go to a vendor/web site, and start looking at SS traits.

Forgot to add 3/8, and 1/2 were the normal sizes we worked with.

Last edited:
For corrosion resistance and strength, I would look at 316. This is especially true if you have to form it. I don't make gaffs but if I was going to try it, I would contact a stainless supplier and ask them for advice. I have found most large producers to be really helpful.

Having been a commercial fisherman as well as a paramedic, I have always been wondering about putting together hand gaffs for the boat. What grade would be able to be bent to shape, but resist pulling open under the weight of a heavy fish. I may have to go to a vendor/web site, and start looking at SS traits.

Forgot to add 3/8, and 1/2 were the normal sizes we worked with.

It all depends upon how large the fish are. For extreme performance, I would look at a heat treatable stainless (400 series). Several sources of stainless steel fish hooks used 420 stainless. However, if the other end of the gaff is being hand held, the applied force can't exceed several hundred lbs. A hook made from 1/2" 316 stainless should hold up to that kind of force. A larger gape will require less force to straighten than a small gape.

I have had to man handle 230+ YF tunas by myself, cut 600-750 lb marlins to get them on board, and in the 400 lb range get drug on board, I have taken the bend out of gaffs before, so that's why I'm wondering. RJ I'll have to see the procedure for heat treating SS, thanks for the answers so far.