Whats going on with this cut?

Opie_7afe

Registered
Registered
So this is my first time using a center in a lathe and having a weird cut almost like its out of round or the metal is twisted(i know its not.. the metal is 0.656 drill rod, i have 0.002 runout at spindle end, have 0.004 at the tail stock end. Now tail stock was out of alignment, and tried getting it close using two centers and matching the points up, so its most likely off. But i tried moving the alignment a tiny bit to remove that runout and just keeps jumping around.. my main concern is the cut in the pictures, its about a 0.010 cut. Barely cutting at tail stock end and cutting at spindle end.... Have any pointers for me?

In the pictures its that diagonal line you can hardly see. Just a weird twist type of thing going on..

IMG_20190217_192433_1.jpg

IMG_20190217_190649.jpg

I cant tell,but would bet a weeks pay on chatter setting in....(i dont get paid).....you need a travelling steady mounted on the saddle.........you have got a travelling steady?..........chatter is a self excited vibration ,and once set in its hard to completely eliminate,even with a steady........edit......you should also be aware ,if you cut long lengths without coolant,heat expansion will be so forceful,it can bust bearings and centres on little lathes.

Its not chatter at a 0.010 cut...especially in 0.656 01 drill rod at a length of 7" between the centers...drill rod is ground to a fairly tight tolerance so why would i be getting a cut not concentric while twisting at the same time? Im highly doubtful its chatter. Hard to take a picture of what i see..

When you hold stock between chuck and center you can get strange cutting action if the axis of headstock and tailstock not aligned close enough. Tough hard to cut steels can flex when cutting. Your cutting tool may not be sharp enough or may not be on center. Does it have enough positive rake?