When is a DRO setup appropriate??

Loganguy

Registered
Registered
I have been reading a lot of posts about installing digital readouts on mills and lathes. My question is; When is it appropriate to retrofit a lathe with a DRO package, and more to the point, when is it NOT appropriate?

I have an old Logan lathe (circa 1946) and was wondering if it would just be a waste of money to invest in a DRO for it. Currently, I have been using dial indicators in various configurations to measure my carriage and crossfeed travel as needed for my projects.

I looked at a DRO featured in another message and it had a price of $599. I could manage that price. I'm just not sure whether it would be a waste of money to retrofit an old lathe. I am a newbie hobby machinist, so would like to solicit the opinion of some real machinists.

I live and die by DRO on my mills, surface grinder and cutter/grinder but, never had a need for one on a lathe. After years of not having one, I purchased an iGaging type from davidh on this list. I didn't really need it but wanted to see if it helped and I also wanted to support a fellow member. The X-axis (crossfeed) was never installed -just don't see a reason for it. I use the Z axis all the time to determine basic landmarks along a workpiece (e.g. knowing where to cut the recess for a thread stop etc). It speeds-up Z-axis landmarking and is a little faster than using Dykem ink and calipers.

Your question has come-up before -and no particular response has "rocked my world". Oddly enough, my next lathe (whenever I get around to that) will have a DRO.

FWIW, if you have a variable speed lathe, there are some DROs that can be wired into the speed control to accomplish constant surface speed. I do it manually with the VFD knob.

Ray