Which Lathe?

kranker1450

Registered
Registered
I just got a Pm25mv and love it. I have a Grizzly G0768 that I am looking to upgrade already. I am Looking at either the grizzly G4002 or the Pm1228. What are your opinions and thoughts on these. They will be used for hobby machining. I like to mess with firearms and stuff of that nature. I would like to start threading barrels in the future. Any input would be greatly appreciated. These are at the top of my budget. I have looked at the g4003 as well.

Thanks Krank

If you are already out of room/power/features on the 814 lathe, don't stop below 1236 size.
That would be G4003G or PM 1236

1. I am a self taught hobbyist
  2. I have a G4003
  3. While I can't say that I have asked too much of it, it has done everything that I have asked (except thread 11.5 tpi and I found 11tpi worked just fine for what I needed).

Thanks For the replies. I have looked at the G4003 also but my shop is in the basement and getting a machine of that weight into it is a real concern.

Thanks Krank

I have done some more research and between the G4003g and the Pm1236 I would lean towards the PM1236. You get more options for the same money. Plus the color would match my mill and Pm seems to be a very good company to deal with.
I guess know I need to decide between the 1228 and the 1236. The 1236 seems like a lot more machine for only $400 more, with that I just need to figure out how to get it in the basement without killing someone.

Krank