Why Do My Threads Look So Rough?

Jon In Tucson

Active User
Registered
First, let me say that I am a novice when it comes to machining and thread cutting, unless it has to do with using taps and dies. I have been using some aluminum scraps from a friends work to practice on. The pitch and diameter of my practice pieces has been satisfactory, although the finish not so much. Here is what I'm doing:
Spindle speed: 230 RPM, HSS threading tool, Marvel Mystery Oil.
047.JPG
I tried the threads out and that is the reason for the smooth first few threads. Thanks for the advice. God bless.
Jon In Tucson

Might be the material, some stuff is kinda gummy. Or maybe you're just not done cleaning them up. Some folks run a triangle file thru the threads after to clean them up, or a flat file to break the burrs off of the v. I often chase threads with a die after to get them nice looking. Are you feeding in with the compound?

I'm no expert on cutting threads on a lathe, but it looks like the tool holder may have slipped. The threads look good on the first few turns, but the buggered up threads are much too thin on the high part of the last 3/4ths of the cut.

I've had similar results when the bit is too high. It will hit a snag and torque down if the dovetail ways are a little loose, causing it to dig in too deep on the last pass. That can happen right in the middle of a pass.

230 rpm is a little fast for threading. Many people just turn the chuck by hand when single pointing threads.

Hey Jon...I'm in Tucson too if you want me to come by and help you out some.

Send me a PM and we can set something up.

I have seen this on steel as well. Most Aluminium alloys threads like the stuff out of a cow. Have to have a really sharp tool, not the point, just over all and a LOT lube is important. Get the specific cutting lube if Marvel is not the right one. Even WD40 will work in this case. Have the tool set right on center and do not take too deep a cut per pass.
Pierre

Jon,