[4]

Windows 10 is running slow -- Fixed

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

JimDawson

Global Moderator
Staff member
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Feb 8, 2014
Messages
7,267
Likes
5,566
#1
I have been sitting at the computer for the last 3 weeks or so working on some new software and noted that my computer was running slow especially after the last update from Microsoft. High disk, CPU, and memory usage. Initially I thought it was swapping because of the number of programs and windows that I had open and was using a lot of resources. So to ''fix'' the problem I increased the memory from 4 gig to 8 gig thinking that more memory would help. :cautious:

Well, the problem actually got worse, was taking about 10 minutes after a reboot for the computer to become useful again with very high CPU and disk usage. Adding the memory made my computer almost useless. :confused: So I started digging a bit. Open the Task Manager (right click on the taskbar) and look at the Processes. It turns out that there are two Microsoft services that were causing the problem, neither of which are needed.:mad:

Microsoft Compatibility Telemetry ''periodically sends usage and performance data to select Microsoft IP addresses so that they can improve user experience and fix potential issues, and is enabled by default.'' The problem is that it now runs almost continuously, and makes the computer almost useless.

Here is how to turn it off https://www.drivereasy.com/knowledg...ibility-telemetry-high-disk-usage-solved/#Way 1. Using Group Policy Editor

SuperFetch service. This is a ''helpful'' service that loads pieces of frequently used programs in to unused memory so the programs load faster when you click on them, kind of turning the memory into a hard drive. Well it turns out that increasing the memory actually slowed the computer down because Windows saw the additional memory as a place to stuff more pieces of programs. Not only using up memory, but causing high disk usage while loading the crap. If you don't start the program that Microsoft thinks you wanted to load, then it takes twice as long for the program to load while the current memory data is being stuffed into the Page File system on the HD, then it loads the program. I can live with my programs taking a few extra seconds to load.

Here is how to turn SuperFetch off:
Disable from Services
  1. Hold the Windows Key, while pressing “R” to bring up the Run dialog box.
  2. Type “services.msc“, then press “Enter“.
  3. The Services window displays. Find “Superfetch” in the list.
  4. Right-click “Superfetch“, then select “Properties“.
  5. Select the “Stop” button if you wish to stop the service.
  6. In the Startup Type box, select Disable
After turning these service off my computer is back to normal. :dancing banana:
 

wrmiller

Chief Tinkerer
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Mar 21, 2013
Messages
3,418
Likes
1,401
#2
Just my opinion Jim, but I don't recommend running Win10 on any system with less than 16GB of memory. The OS has gotten too bloated with crap (as you've discovered) to be functional with anything less.

I have 32GB in my Win10/gamer system because of the high-fidelity flight sims I like to drive, but have not experienced any slowdowns to date. I will look into shutting off that telemetry nonsense though. Microsoft doesn't need to know how I run my system. :)

EDIT: Checked and those services are not even configured (don't ever run) on my system. I disabled telemetry just in case, but do you know what activated this 'feature' on you system?
 
Last edited:

mksj

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
1,928
Likes
2,346
#3
I had similar problems to what you encountered, my CPU was running at close to 100% all the time in background (pop up the show task manager button). On one computer it was the update service would not shut down after hours, and then more recently Microsoft's antivirus software was running continuously at full tilt. I had to turn my update service off similar way to what you did for the superfetch, until some later point when a new update was available, and I loaded Avast antiviral program which deactivated the Microsoft antiviral software. It seems like with every update there are more problems that pop up, have the same problem with the smart phones, or should I say dumb phones.

I advise everybody to turn off all the telemetry services that Microsoft uses to track everything that you do.
 

JimDawson

Global Moderator
Staff member
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Feb 8, 2014
Messages
7,267
Likes
5,566
#4
Just my opinion Jim, but I don't recommend running Win10 on any system with less than 16GB of memory. The OS has gotten too bloated with crap (as you've discovered) to be functional with anything less.
Unfortunately my antique computer will only handle 8 gigs of memory. :rolleyes:

I disabled telemetry just in case, but do you know what activated this 'feature' on you system?
No idea, but it may have been the latest update. That is when I first noticed the problem.
 

RandyWilson

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Aug 29, 2016
Messages
268
Likes
234
#5
I fix slow Microsoft machines by doing a reinstall.


Usually Fedora,
 

Zathros

Active Member
Registered
Joined
May 9, 2017
Messages
106
Likes
130
#6
Format drive/ install Ubuntu. Problem solved


Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk Pro
 

wrmiller

Chief Tinkerer
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Mar 21, 2013
Messages
3,418
Likes
1,401
#7
A friend/former engineer of mine tried for years to get me to go to some linux variant. When I asked if I could do the things I do on a Windows machine, he said 'no'. We used it at work of course on many of the test servers I was responsible for, but until it can run my flight sims and games I have no use for it.

Besides, I have X11/Unix compatibility on the iMac I'm typing on right now. What do I need a stripped down version for? ;)
 

wrmiller

Chief Tinkerer
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Mar 21, 2013
Messages
3,418
Likes
1,401
#8
Unfortunately my antique computer will only handle 8 gigs of memory. :rolleyes:
Dude, you can put together a decent winblows system fairly cheap nowadays. At least a 16GB system. Quit spending all your money on your toys....err...machines. :D
 

pdentrem

Active User
Registered
Joined
Jan 28, 2011
Messages
1,988
Likes
481
#9
We have many machines at work that are Windows based. We stopped at Win7 due to the fact it has been the most stable since XT and the machine vendors can not keep up with Microsoft continuing changes! At home I use Ubuntu and from a cold start to onto the internet it takes 30 seconds. Also I can do anything that I need to do and even some programs that I use are Unix based so they run much faster than in the Windows environment. The only reason I have Win7 on a laptop is to be able to use my Autocad 2000. My main Ubuntu system has 96 G of RAM and I have a couple ram drives setup as well. It kicks Window butt all day long. HP Z800 with 2-5660 CPUs, 256 G SSD and 2 T spin drive. I bought it for under $1000 and it came with Win7 Pro and I made it a dual boot system with primary as Ubuntu.
Pierre
 

Zathros

Active Member
Registered
Joined
May 9, 2017
Messages
106
Likes
130
#10
If one needs Windows use à VM I have installed about 4 vm on My 8gb MacMini and that Works Well enough. Mac os x as à host or linux on other toys with either os x beos haiku even Classic amiga and 2 Windows version.


Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk Pro
 

wrmiller

Chief Tinkerer
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Mar 21, 2013
Messages
3,418
Likes
1,401
#11
If one needs Windows use à VM I have installed about 4 vm on My 8gb MacMini and that Works Well enough. Mac os x as à host or linux on other toys with either os x beos haiku even Classic amiga and 2 Windows version.


Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk Pro
Before I bought my Area-51 gamer I had Win7 installed on my iMac using Bootcamp and it work surprisingly well. I used to brag that I had 3 systems (Unix/MacOS/Windows) in one. :)

One of these days the makers of games will recognize the Linux platform as a viable alternative to windoze. That would be cool.
 

Karl_T

H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Oct 14, 2014
Messages
1,037
Likes
441
#12
...

I advise everybody to turn off all the telemetry services that Microsoft uses to track everything that you do.
For the dummies in the crowd (me) could you list the things that can be turned off?
 

Zathros

Active Member
Registered
Joined
May 9, 2017
Messages
106
Likes
130
#13
If still usable in the latest ms software piriform ccleaner would be helpfull for you.


Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk Pro
 

Splat

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Mar 10, 2012
Messages
1,076
Likes
145
#15
I know folks running Win10 with only 4GB of RAM, and one guy's got only 2GB. Yes, it works, but you can't have too many apps running. Windows Update can slow down a system when it's checking for udpates. Seen it many times. I was a Linux guy for some years but they could never get it right right outta the box. Either the sound or the video would be messed up or not optimal. It's a shame but it is what it is.
 

pdentrem

Active User
Registered
Joined
Jan 28, 2011
Messages
1,988
Likes
481
#16
Never get it right out of the box - sounds like Microsoft!
 

Splat

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Mar 10, 2012
Messages
1,076
Likes
145
#17
Never get it right out of the box - sounds like Microsoft!
Well, all joking aside you have a better chance of Windows running respectably well than any Linux derivative, at least all the ones I've tried lately.
 

RandyWilson

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Aug 29, 2016
Messages
268
Likes
234
#18
Hardware issues used to be a problem with CHEAP non-standard hardware that depended on a custom driver to mask the hardware faults. This same hardware wouldn't run under Wondows, either, without their special driver. I have had no issues with hardware compatibility for a decade, or more. And I have lots of installations. Even my Windows machines are really virtual installations on a linux host. No Windows update eating half of the cpu. No anti-virus virus eating the other half. Little worry about opening email, or websites, or any such. I know what's going on with the machines; no walled garden. And running linux means never having to start a thread titled "Windows 10 running slow". :)
 

pdentrem

Active User
Registered
Joined
Jan 28, 2011
Messages
1,988
Likes
481
#19
I remember the first time I tried it, Redhat maybe something like version 3? I then tried Mandriva but still it was not ready for prime time. My brother and BIL were using a MythTv box which used Mythdora and this did work. Since then I have built a couple Myth boxes and found Ubuntu to be the easiest to set up. I have had no issues with Ubuntu LTS versions. Started with 12 and I am currently running 16. My current MythTv box also runs Kodi that many people call an Android box.

Any ways back to the topic. I was pointed to used workstations for heavy CPU process programs like photo and video editing. Buy a used HP Z800 series for under $1k, compared to when they were new for many multiples of their current pricing! Get very stable hardware at rock bottom pricing.
Pierre
 

Splat

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Mar 10, 2012
Messages
1,076
Likes
145
#20
Hardware issues used to be a problem with CHEAP non-standard hardware that depended on a custom driver to mask the hardware faults. This same hardware wouldn't run under Wondows, either, without their special driver. I have had no issues with hardware compatibility for a decade, or more. And I have lots of installations. Even my Windows machines are really virtual installations on a linux host. No Windows update eating half of the cpu. No anti-virus virus eating the other half. Little worry about opening email, or websites, or any such. I know what's going on with the machines; no walled garden. And running linux means never having to start a thread titled "Windows 10 running slow". :)
My experiences with Linux running high and mid level hardware has been lacking, too. My servers, sure, I'm using it but on my own personal PC's where I need solid video and audio it's still lacking. BTW, I'm no Windows fanboy by any means. It seems I go back to running Linux at home and laptops every 6 months but I just get let down...again. Anyway, I didn't mention it before but good post Jim. Hopefully this will help some folks out here.
 

wrmiller

Chief Tinkerer
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Mar 21, 2013
Messages
3,418
Likes
1,401
#21
Why is it every time someone disagrees with the Linux faithful they have to come out with pitchforks like someone spit on their religion?

It (Linux) is just another choice, like MacOS or Windows. Some folks use/like it, others don't. Enjoy what you like and quit trying to push your choice on everyone else who disagrees with you. Wow.

See what you started Jim? ;)
 

Zathros

Active Member
Registered
Joined
May 9, 2017
Messages
106
Likes
130
#22
Just the same as with soccer clubs, religion, politics etc. Just for the sake of argue.



Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk Pro
 

JimDawson

Global Moderator
Staff member
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Feb 8, 2014
Messages
7,267
Likes
5,566
#23
I'm about ready to roll back to DOS 6.22 I think I have a copy of Borland C for DOS around here somewhere. :grin:
 

RandyWilson

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Aug 29, 2016
Messages
268
Likes
234
#24
The other side of the coin is much misinformation and opinions are tossed out as fact, and when corrected it is considered "coming out with pitchforks". Example. 15-20 years ago Apple "borrowed" part of the X11 stack (just not the part that made it unique and useful). This was done to make it easier for their developers to "borrow" programs from the Unix world. So how does this make the modern Linux version "stripped down"?
 

Zathros

Active Member
Registered
Joined
May 9, 2017
Messages
106
Likes
130
#25
I'm about ready to roll back to DOS 6.22 I think I have a copy of Borland C for DOS around here somewhere. :grin:
Cpm and amigaDos LOL



Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk Pro
 

wrmiller

Chief Tinkerer
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Mar 21, 2013
Messages
3,418
Likes
1,401
#26
I'm about ready to roll back to DOS 6.22 I think I have a copy of Borland C for DOS around here somewhere. :grin:
Did some of my best firmware design/coding on DOS. Used borland C, but liked Watcom better as it would generate 186 native. I don't remember if Borland did. :)
 

brino

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Messages
3,459
Likes
3,486
#27
It turns out that there are two Microsoft services that were causing the problem, neither of which are needed.:mad:
....and there's probably more "services" that are not strictly required.

This is exactly the reason I'll be delaying any "upgrades" from Win7 for many years to come.
My computers are stable, do what I want, and still look familiar. I have no reason to change that.

Jim, I know that in Win7 the "Group Policy Editor" was only accessible in "Professional" versions but not in "Home" versions. Do you know if that's true for Win10 as well?

-brino
 

JimDawson

Global Moderator
Staff member
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Feb 8, 2014
Messages
7,267
Likes
5,566
#28
Jim, I know that in Win7 the "Group Policy Editor" was only accessible in "Professional" versions but not in "Home" versions. Do you know if that's true for Win10 as well?
I don't know. I only have the Pro versions.
 

rzbill

The cheapest thing in an airplane is the pilot.
Registered
Joined
Feb 16, 2017
Messages
136
Likes
148
#29
Recent home convert to Linux Mint 18.1 here. Happy so far. It is allowing me to resurrect some decent desktops and laptops that were essentially unusable under the bloat from Mickeysoft after XP. The final push was my old copy of AutoCAD would not run after a WIN OS upgrade. Works great under Linux/Wine combo.
 

Splat

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Mar 10, 2012
Messages
1,076
Likes
145
#30
This is exactly the reason I'll be delaying any "upgrades" from Win7 for many years to come.
My computers are stable, do what I want, and still look familiar. I have no reason to change that.

Jim, I know that in Win7 the "Group Policy Editor" was only accessible in "Professional" versions but not in "Home" versions. Do you know if that's true for Win10 as well?
Not in any version of Windows Home, no. But it can be installed. See here. These days fancy marketing tries to fool people into thinking their systems are unusable. As for Win7, or any OS, as long as it does what you need in a reasonable amount of time then it's not obsolete.
 
[6]
[5] [7]
Top