Wiring help on Dayton gear reduction motor.

ridgeway

Active User
Registered
I have this Dayton gear reduction motor I want to wire for 110v. I pictured the wiring diagram and the electrical box that is attached to the motor.

According to the diagram, do I simply wire nut the white, red and purple to the common and the other three to the hot power wire? Seems like an awful lot of wires just to wire nut all together? I will probably use an old computer power cable for power. The ground lead, I can handle, lol.

I also want to wire in a two prong toggle switch that is rated for 110v. Do I simply break the hot lead with the switch?

As you can tell, I'm no electrician, lol.

picsay-1408512054.jpg
picsay-1408512086.jpg
9676650.jpg

It sounds like you have it. Just make sure the switch is rated for the at least the motor current (amps)

Thanks Jim. I got it wired up and worked fine. The amp draw is 0.62 according the the specs. The toggle switch I had here is rated at 4 amp and seemed pretty cheap when I operated it. Went to Radio Shack and got one there, much nicer quality. Just need to source a strain relief fitting and get my power cord situated.

After that, I need to make a case holder driver and I will be set.

BTW, this motor is a case turner for my rifle cases so I can neck turn and clean. Sure will beat using a drill after I get it all finished.

My pleasure. Please post some pictures of your project.

This is what I have so far...just need to make the arbor for the shell holder.

IMAG2013-picsay.jpg
IMAG2014-picsay.jpg

You are on the right track with your project. Please also watch what wire you use for line voltage wiring. Most computer type wire is not rated for line voltage and insulation breakdown comes with many nasty sneaky suprises included. Type SJ cord is cheap and tailor made for projects like this, also of a standard diameter to fit readily available termination fittings. Nothing a $5 cord pigtail won't handle.